collecting · hobbies · philately

Will Philately Get You Nowhere??

Hi all!

I mentioned in my post yesterday that I have been a stamp collector for over 20 years and I was interesting in making a blog post about it. I thought that it might as well be today.

Philately, the collecting and studying of postage stamp has basically been one of the worlds most popular hobbies in the 19th century! Even though it has been and continues to be that popular, I still think that the hobby doesn’t get the credit I believe it deserves. Some people may think “Urgh, stamp collecting. That’s gotta be boring!” or that collecting them is a waste of time and money, but I have learnt so much in the 20 years that I’ve been collecting.

I have thousands of stamps in my collection, some of which are from countries I didn’t know existed until I got those stamps! Admittedly, there are some stamps I have that do look pretty dull and old but that’s because they are old! I use a website called Colnect. This site allows me to list stamps I have in my collection, ones I have available for swap and ones I really want to add to my collection. I do usually only have my swap and wish lists, but the earliest stamp I have available for swap is from 1908! No wonder it looks dull and old. This doesn’t bother me, I just like collecting them and learning about the designs and the countries.

One country that I like collecting from is Japan. I have received some amazing stamps that were issued there. The designs are great and they are very vibrant, they just jump off the page in my Stanley Gibbons stock book! I just couldn’t resist stamps like the ones in the images below…

3d428-11423363_10205953869959632_7197885789410459154_o 6edd3-1559445_10205953871479670_3743088132345051934_o 7f736-11270338_10205720615648420_8222921291403696940_o

So, as the title of my post suggests…will philately get you nowhere? All in all, for me this is a brilliant hobby. You never know, you might have a hidden gem. I think its a hobby that children from newer generations may never know about and it may be a good idea to introduce children to this hobby. Besides, that’s how I started. Over 20 years ago I was intrigued by the British stamps on my families letters and started to collect stamps, and here I am today with a collection of thousands of stamps with connections to other collectors around the wold who I trade with as well as collections of other items too! If you’re interested in stamp collecting or collecting anything else, I suggest giving it a go. You never know, you may enjoy it.

If this post has encouraged you to give stamp collecting a go then please contact me through the usual methods, as I’d be more than happy to help a newbie out πŸ™‚ I’ll be making another post about stamps soon, as I have just received a bunch from a recent trade which I’ll tell you all about. It will include a rant…

So, whether its about stamp collecting or anything else (like asking about any other collections I have) please feel free to either post your comments here on the post, Facebook or Twitter. Look forward to hearing from you all! πŸ™‚ Don’t forget that you can find a pinable image below if you would like to pin this blog post to Pinterest.

Look out very soon for new posts, one of which will be a product review and the other is a small competition I am going to run specifically designed around this post. If the competitions have enough interest, they may become a regular thing.

Best Wishes
Nikki

Visit Nikkipedia Facebook page Visit Nikkipedia Twitter page Visit Nikkipedia Instagram page Email Nikkipedia Visit Nikkipedia Pinterest page Visit Nikkipedia Google+ page Visit Nikkipedia Bloglovin page Visit Nikkipedia Tumblr page
3 thoughts on “Will Philately Get You Nowhere??

  1. Mr Midnight, Sir Winston and myself, from the blog “Gilmours Nice Place” have just stumbled upon your blog. Although Mr Midnight is not an avid collector of anything (apart from collecting food sticks!), Sir Winston, and largely myself, absolutely love those little pieces of old paper. I have thousands of the things and apart from when I visit an auction or exhibition where I can visibly see other (old-age) collectors, I thought that I was the only person in the whole wide world interested in the things. One can learn so much. I often sit in the “study”, sifting through my German or British stamps (although I do seem to collect most things philatelic) and Sir Winston sits purring under the table. What a great hobby we share!! πŸ™‚ All the best greetings from Mr Midnight, Sir Winston and myself out of the Black Forest. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

