Asthma · health · life

Living With Asthma

We all know an asthmatic…right? If you don’t but you’re reading this then you do now. I suffer from asthma. It’s one of the most common respiratory problems affecting the population, with roughly 5.4 million people in the UK that are receiving asthma treatment.

I was diagnosed with asthma when I was 5 years old and it has been the biggest bugbear in my life since that day. I have good days, I have off days…but then I have even worse days. Not too long ago I had what my fiancé and I to believe has been my worst experience with asthma I have ever had. I have to take 4 puffs of a preventer inhaler per day and a dosage of a reliever inhaler when its required. I’ll tell you about these later on in the post. This specific day my inhalers just wouldn’t shift my symptoms. Breathing was so difficult for me that it was actually hurting my chest. My body was instinctively trying to take deep breaths and the wheezing was so loud I just couldn’t relax to try and ease my symptoms. The symptoms lasted for a few days, and with the help of my fiancé gradually eased off.

My fiancé does a lot of research when I have bad days to find ways in which he can help me relieve any symptoms I have; some of which have really helped me. The thing he found that helped me the most was having a strong black coffee, breathing in the steam for a few minutes before drinking. It usually works wonders for me.

My triggers seem to vary, with dust, pollen, being around cigarette smoke and exercise being my main ones. -In case you are wondering, I don’t smoke but many people I know do-  I also have regular asthma check-ups with my nurse, usually once a year where I get my flu jab too, unless I’ve had a lot of problems when she’ll ask to see me at about 3 months later. Just before Christmas my nurse changed my reliever inhaler for a new type, which I’ll tell you about.

My new reliever inhaler is a Salamol Easi-Breathe CFC-Free inhaler. It’s a very sleek, intuitive design as it is breath-actuated inhaler. If you don’t know what that means, the easiest definition it is breath operated. I like this aspect of it as people who may have trouble clicking an inhaler can easily just breathe in and this inhaler automatically distributes the standard dosage. The one thing I’m not really impressed by is the fact of there’s no dosage counter. I prefer to know how many doses I’ve used and got left because it makes it easier to track when I should definitely order my next prescription. I have to take this inhaler whenever I feel it’s necessary, but I also usually take it first thing in a morning and the last thing at night, right before my preventer.

362af-picsart_02-19-11-56-46

43474-picsart_02-19-11-57-36
My preventer inhaler is an Asmabec Clickhaler. This is the same type I have had since I started taking a preventer and even previously had the same type in my reliever. I like the dosage counter on these inhalers, I just wish it wasn’t as chunky. With these I have to take two puffs twice a day.

298de-picsart_02-19-11-58-08

I haven’t always had to take a preventer inhaler and I had the problem of not remembering to take it. I’ve got a system now that’s helping me remember. Once I’ve taken my preventer in a morning I put it on my coffee table or mantelpiece and then at night I put it straight on my bedside table. Its really helped me.

I hope that this post has helped raise a little more awareness of asthma, the triggers, symptoms and treatments. I’ve noted at the very bottom of the post the couple of resources I’ve used for my statistics. I’d love to hear your thoughts or experiences regarding this topic. You can get in touch using the usual methods via the comments section, contact form, Facebook and Twitter. Look forward to hearing from you! Also, don’t forget about the pinable image below if you would like to pin my blog post to Pinterest.

Best Wishes!
Nikki

Visit Nikkipedia Facebook page Visit Nikkipedia Twitter page Visit Nikkipedia Instagram page Email Nikkipedia Visit Nikkipedia Pinterest page Visit Nikkipedia Google+ page Visit Nikkipedia Bloglovin page Visit Nikkipedia Tumblr page

Asthma.org.uk
NHS UK

6 thoughts on “Living With Asthma

  1. Thank you Samantha! That's what I wanted to do, raise some awareness and hopefully give guidance to others who may need it. Its a very dangerous condition and I've hated it from day 1.
    Best Wishes
    Nikki

    Like

  2. Hello, stopping over from Blooging Boost Facebook group! I have exercise-induced asthma, which wouldn't be terribly difficult to deal with if I weren't a Division I athlete. So I definitely understand. I wasn't diagnosed until my freshman year of college, but looking back, it explains a lot of issues I had throughout my life. Good inhalers to control the symptoms are absolutely key! Glad you found something that works for you. 🙂

    Like

  3. Thanks for visiting, Victoria!
    I've changed my reliever inhaler a little since this post. My doctor sent me just the normal CFC free inhaler instead of the Easibreathe but I just replaced the canister into my Easibreathe. I seemed to be having a bit of trouble with it so I've just started to use the CFC free inhaler without the Easibreathe casing. This seems to work a lot better!
    I'm glad you're receiving your treatment too. Its got to be difficult suffering without a diagnosis. Which inhalers are you prescribed?
    Nikki 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

