Business · interview · Sunday showcase

March Business Showcase | Charmed By Simplicity **SPECIAL OFFER INCLUDED!!!**

71eb0-charmed2bby2bsimplicity

My next business showcase is for the handmade jewellery business Charmed By Simplicity. Based in Auburn, Alabama USA, Charmed By Simplicity is owned by Ivy Cirillo, aged 20.

Charmed by Simplicity is an online shop specializing in handmade jewellery and accessories as well as home décor. Each of their pieces are unique in their own way. Whether it is because there is only one made, or because no two handmade pieces ever look the same. Charmed by Simplicity hopes that each unique piece finds its unique owner that will cherish it for years to come.

045c8-8639_10200790047047247_1601062652_n
Here is my interview with Ivy…


Abalone Shell Wire Wrapped Necklace

When did you start your business?
I started Charmed By Simplicity on July 19, 2015

What made you decide to setup your business?
Over the last few years, I have been diagnosed with multiple chronic illnesses. I have always loved to craft, and now that I can no longer work I’ve got plenty of time to do so! I love that I’m able to do what I love, and work at my own pace when I’m overwhelmed with my symptoms.

What do you do and what products do you sell?
I do a little bit of everything. I love all things creative so I try my hand at all of them. I sell handmade home décor items such as teacup candles, paintings, and wall hangings. A large part of my shop is dedicated to handmade jewelry. I love wire wrapping genuine gemstones, I actually have over 200 in stock for custom orders!

What products seem to be your best sellers?
Since all of my items are handmade and one of a kind, I don’t sell the same thing more than once. I do have to say though, my wire wrapped gemstone necklaces are definitely popular.

Who are your biggest competitors?
Honestly in my crafting community I don’t see myself having competitors. I’ve made friends with the other creators in my category and we inspire each other to do better. Another thing that we do is shop shares, if one of us is having a sale we repost it.

How do you advertise your business?
All of my advertising is through word of mouth or social media. I really interact with my customers and I think that’s a huge factor. I don’t overwhelm them with posts or emails, and I make sure to respond to almost every comment or message that I get. Another thing that I do is business cards. I always carry a bunch with me so that people if my work comes up in conversation I can offer one, and I do the same if they compliment my jewelry too.

How would you recommend your business to potential customers?
Any time that I’m doing a craft show I say almost the same thing to everyone that walks by. I always inform them that I love custom orders! If they see something they like, but want it in a different color or scent I can gladly do it for them. I’ll even color match pictures you send to me. I have over 200 gemstones to choose from when it comes to my necklaces, and access to a large variety of paints, yarn, and candle scents. So no matter what you like in my shop, I can always customize something specifically for you!

Amazonite Wire Wrapped Necklace

Did you have any problems when starting your business? If so, how did you overcome them?
I don’t think I really had any problems when I first started, except for myself. I tend to be a perfectionist, and I’m really critical of myself and my products. I also tend to compare myself to other business, but I realize that each of us are on our own paths and no two businesses follows the same path. I haven’t completely overcome these things, but I’m definitely doing better!

Do you recruit? If so, what are the benefits?
Yes, charmed by simplicity does have promoters and there are some great benefits. I’m actually looking for promoters right now. You can see all of the guidelines here. Each promoter will receive a discount code to share with their followers. Each time their code is used the promoter will receive points. Once the promoter has received 5 points from 5 different people they will receive a $15 gift certificate redeemable in my shop. I also give an extra gift certificate to the promoter with the most sales each month.

How do you decide on your designs?
I honestly don’t have a method to my designs. I just take out my supplies and do what my hands feel is natural. Sometimes I get an idea in my head and I try to sketch it out, but I usually don’t plan my designs.

Blue and White Teacup Candle

What has been your favourite piece to work on?
I think my favorite piece to work on has got to be my wire wrapped gemstone necklaces. I just love that each stone is so beautiful and unique. I always try to wrap the wire in a way that accentuates the natural beauty of the stone. I really like simple designs and these necklaces are simple and beautiful.

Are there any offers on your products running at the moment?
I do not have any offers running to the public at the moment, but I do have a special code for Nikkipedia readers. Use the code “Nikkipedia” to get $5.00 off when you spend at least $20.00 on your purchase. This coupon never expires and will continue to be available to all Nikkipedia readers, for ready to ship items or custom orders.

What has the experience of owning a business been like for you?
Owning a business has its ups and downs, but overall my experience has been good. I’ve been able to work my own hours, and even better, work from home. I’ve met so many wonderful people through this process as a well. I’ve got great customers, that come back over and over again. I’ve also  met some incredible ladies that also run small handmade shops, many of which we chat every other day. It’s been great promoting one another and giving advice, they really understand how hard it can be to run your own shop and having their support makes it so much easier.

Navy, Grey and White Wall Hanging
Wire Bangles

Below I have linked to the Charmed By Simplicity webpages, as well as to Perfectly Ambitious, a blog run by Ivy.

Charmed by Simplicity
URL: http://charmedbysimplicity.storenvy.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Charmed-By-Simplicity-1445201749129431/
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/charmedbysimplicity/

Perfectly Ambitious
URL: http://perfectlyambitious.blogspot.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/PerfectlyAmbitious/
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/perfectlyambitiousblog/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/pambitiousblog
Bloglovin: https://www.bloglovin.com/blogs/perfectly-ambitious-14667589

Thank you for answering my questions, Ivy. It has been a pleasure interviewing and getting to know you. I wish you well in your business venture.

Best Wishes!
Nikki

Visit Nikkipedia Facebook page Visit Nikkipedia Twitter page Visit Nikkipedia Instagram page Email Nikkipedia Visit Nikkipedia Pinterest page Visit Nikkipedia Google+ page Visit Nikkipedia Bloglovin page Visit Nikkipedia Tumblr page

**SPECIAL OFFER**

Don’t forget to use the code “Nikkipedia” to get $5.00 off when you spend at least $20.00 on your purchases at Charmed By Simplicity. I’d love to hear about your purchases. Please feel free to send in your comments and pictures, I’d be more than happy to share your experiences here.

Leave a Reply

