Business · interview · Sunday showcase

April Business Showcase | Beanie’s Beauties

Beanie’s Beauties

My third interview was with Frankie Jones (a.k.a Beanie), aged 24 from Reading, owner of Beanie’s Beauties. For the third time this month, I was put in contact with Frankie through my friend Maxine, who owns Caitlyn’s Closet, the bonus showcase for March. You can find the Caitlyn’s Closet showcase HERE.

Beanie’s Beauties; custom jewellery maker, generally dabbling in fun and creative bits and bobs. Frankie is obsessed with the colour green and butterflies… so you may see them a lot.

Here is my interview with Frankie…


When did you start your business? 
I started in February 2016.

What made you decide to setup your business?
I had been off sick for the best part of two months from work and I was bored as hell. I used to make jewellery when I was younger and kept wanting earrings that I could never find, so I bought some bits to make them myself… turned out I was alright at it so, with the encouragement of my lovely friends, I started up a page.

What do you do and what products do you sell?
I’m a sales order processor by day and a jewellery fan girl by night haha. I make mostly bracelets, earrings and necklaces but I plan to make more when I get the bits and the inspiration.

What products seem to be your best sellers?
Anything that features animals so far, though I have fairytale sets on the way and they seem to be generating some excitement.

Who are your biggest competitors?
Ermm.. me! Haha I always want to better myself so I guess I am my biggest competition. I don’t generally find any other jewellery sellers competition as I have a few friends that do it and we all have a completely different style and flare, so you can’t compete, we just help each other, which I love.

How do you advertise your business?
Facebook and business cards mainly.

How would you recommend your business to potential customers?
I can make anything you put me up to!! I love a challenge and if what is on my page doesn’t entice you then you’re always welcome to ask.

Did you have any problems when starting your business? If so, how did you overcome them?
Not really, only the app on my phone being a pain in the behind but got over that by not using it haha.

Do you recruit? If so, what are the benefits?
Nope don’t recruit. Don’t make enough to money to do that! Though I do have a friend that helps me with the page, she’s a talker and a good saleswoman so she helps keep the page alive while I cower away pouring over beads hehe.

How do you decide on your designs?
Normally I pick a charm that I want to use , then I design everything else around it. Though sometimes it is completely random and there is no telling what it is going to look like til it’s finished.

What has been your favourite piece to work on?
Fairytale sets! I’m still designing some at the moment and I’m loving every minute of it. They all have their own colour scheme and three suitable charms and I just like challenging myself to do something different with each one.

Are there any offers on your products running at the moment?
GREENBEANS is a permanent 20% discount code, you have to quote it when ordering, but I won’t prompt haha. That and Earl of Cotton is my sheep mascot, if you spot him in a product photo and comment with his name you get 20% off that piece.

What has the experience of owning a business been like for you?
Weird. Seriously. I am totally not a business woman, I just have an obsession with beads that I need to fund hahaha.

Below I have listed the Facebook and Etsy pages for Beanies Beauties.
Facebook: www.facebook.com/beaniesbeauties
Instagram: www.instagram.com/Beaniesbeauties

Thank you for answering my questions Frankie! It has been a pleasure interviewing you. I wish you well in your business venture.

Best Wishes
Nikki

Visit Nikkipedia Facebook page Visit Nikkipedia Twitter page Visit Nikkipedia Instagram page Email Nikkipedia Visit Nikkipedia Pinterest page Visit Nikkipedia Google+ page Visit Nikkipedia Bloglovin page Visit Nikkipedia Tumblr page

Leave a Reply

