Business · interview · Sunday showcase

April Business Showcase | Cobwebs & Quills

Cobwebs & Quills

My next interview for Aprils business showcases was with Emma Johnson, aged 21 from Nottingham UK, owner of Cobwebs & Quills. For the final time this month, I was put in contact with Frankie through my friend Maxine, who owns Caitlyn’s Closet, the bonus showcase for March. You can find the Caitlyn’s Closet showcase HERE.

Cobwebs & Quills make handmade jewellery and accessories, we also make commissions, usually unusual pieces.

Here is my interview with Emma…


When did you start your business?
Officially in January 2016, but I had set up a page in November 2015.

What made you decide to setup your business?
I decided to set up my business because making jewellery is something I really enjoy. It relaxes me and makes me so happy when a customer really loves there purchase.

What do you do and what products do you sell?
We make a wide variety of products such as homeware, necklaces, rings, bracelets and even headdresses.

What products seem to be your best sellers?
Chokers are always popular among customers, especially black lace chokers.

Who are your biggest competitors?
I’ve never really thought about other businesses as competitors but Asylum Central has been a big inspiration to me.

How do you advertise your business?
We advertise mainly through Facebook, especially on networking pages.

How would you recommend your business to potential customers?
If you love unusual jewellery and accessories and can find beauty in the unusual things in life, you should definitely consider checking out our page. We mainly work with Gothic and alternative pieces.

Did you have any problems when starting your business? If so, how did you overcome them?
Money has been a bit of an issue, but I think that goes without saying for new small businesses. Other than that no problems.

Do you recruit? If so, what are the benefits?
We aren’t currently recruiting. Eventually, I would like to recruit but I plan on expanding the business further first.

How do you decide on your designs?
Sometimes I will send ideas or pictures of makes to close friends that also run businesses, since they have similar taste to a lot of my customers their opinions help a lot.

What has been your favourite piece to work on?
My favourite piece to work on has been a commission raven feather headdress I made in January/February.

Are there any offers on your products running at the moment?
Currently, we do “ Make an offer Monday” where you can message us with an offer on any product and if it is sensible enough, it will be accepted.

What has the experience of owning a business been like for you?
Owning a business has been fantastic, I’ve made lots of new friends and connections and I’m loving every second of it, even the times when it can be challenging.

Below I have listed the Facebook and Etsy pages for Cobwebs & Quills, as well as an email address which you can email if you wish.
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/cobwebsandquills/
Etsy: https://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/CobwebsandQuills
Email: Cobwebsandquills@gmail.com

Thank you for answering my questions, Emma! It has been a pleasure interviewing you. I wish you well in your business venture.

Best Wishes
Nikki

Visit Nikkipedia Facebook page Visit Nikkipedia Twitter page Visit Nikkipedia Instagram page Email Nikkipedia Visit Nikkipedia Pinterest page Visit Nikkipedia Google+ page Visit Nikkipedia Bloglovin page Visit Nikkipedia Tumblr page

Leave a Reply

