Business · interview · Sunday showcase

April Business Showcase | Purple Addiction Designs

Purple Addiction Designs

For my second showcase this month I interviewed Karen Cadman, aged 36 from Bristol, owner of Purple Addiction Designs. I got in touch with Karen through my friend, Maxine, who owns Caitlyn’s Closet, the bonus showcase for March. You can find the Caitlyn’s Closet showcase HERE.

Purple Addiction Designs make bespoke jewellery hangers and jewellery boxes along with a side project called the twister range which is jewellery.

Here is my interview with Karen…


Cat and Moon Necklaces

When did you start your business?
I started in February this year.

What made you decide to set up your business?
I spent ages trying to find jewellery hangers that suited my personality and tastes for my growing collection of necklaces but I couldn’t so I ended up making my own and then people asked to buy them so I took the decision to start making some through my friends page, Hayneze Homemade, and then branched out on my own.

What do you do and what products do you sell?
I make bespoke jewellery hangers and boxes but recently I have launched a side project with my friend called The Twister Range which is wooden necklaces such as glittery unicorns.

What products seem to be your best sellers?
Definitely the skull hangers so far.

Skull Hanger

Who are your biggest competitors?
I’d say mine are probably the bigger companies who can mass produce jewellery boxes so far I haven’t come across a small business in the same vein as mine.

How do you advertise your business?
Through Facebook and networking I also send out business cards with every order.

How would you recommend your business to potential customers?
With Purple Addiction Designs you get a personal service I will talk through your order and clarify this with you before invoicing and I also send updates. I take pride in my work and put my heart and soul into each order. I love a challenge too so will happily discuss more unusual ideas.

Did you have any problems when starting your business? If so, how did you overcome them?
Pricing properly. I wasn’t taking into consideration time or paypal and postage costs so I revised it.

Do you recruit? If so, what are the benefits?
No, the business is too small but I do have Doug the Pug who helps me haha.

How do you decide on your designs?
I wanted Bat hangers myself so they were my first make and then I just started researching other designs. I have a lot of friends in the alternative world so went for things I knew would appeal.

What has been your favourite piece to work on?
Probably the Unicorn carousel or the Harry Potter box I made.

Are there any offers on your products running at the moment?
We have a special offer for the twister range buy 2 products and receive a 10% discount, buy 3 products and receive a 20% discount.

What has the experience of owning a business been like for you?
It has been amazing, since I started I have been so happy. I was really ill last year and very down but the spark has come back to me. I have so little free time now and I don’t mind as I find it so relaxing

     
Unicorn Hanger  Star Hanger Unicorn Carousel

Purple Addiction Designs only works through their Facebook page, which I have listed below.
Facebook: www.facebook.com/purpleaddictiondesigns

Karen made a statement which I would love to share with you all. “I just wanted to thank you for this opportunity it means a lot to small businesses to get exposure.”

Thank you for answering my questions, Karen. It has been a pleasure interviewing and getting to know you. I wish you well in your business venture.

Best Wishes
Nikki

Visit Nikkipedia Facebook page Visit Nikkipedia Twitter page Visit Nikkipedia Instagram page Email Nikkipedia Visit Nikkipedia Pinterest page Visit Nikkipedia Google+ page Visit Nikkipedia Bloglovin page Visit Nikkipedia Tumblr page

 

Leave a Reply

