books · Literature · The Blog Tag

Books

books

A new topic for today on The Blog Tag, and just like one of the admins said…you can’t have literature week without BOOKS! I was expecting today’s topic to come up at some point this week. I’d had a few ideas of where to go with it.

I really like to read. I love actual books and I’ve always got my trusty e-reader on my tablet for when I’m travelling. I’m a member of my local library, albeit I haven’t been for a while but I wish I had. What I want to do with this post is break it down into a couple of sections.

What I Like To Read

Some of the books my fiancé and I own

Everyone has favourite genres and genres they don’t like at all…the same with authors. I’m a big fan of crime and mystery books. I like to try and solve it before I get to the end of the book when the culprit is revealed. I’ve always loved puzzles and mysteries. Although, I don’t just stick to reading crime and mystery. I love to read romance, chick lit and fantasy.

The reason I love crime and mystery books so much? Sherlock Holmes. The great detective drew me into reading the stories about him and the crimes he solved. In my opinion, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle was a genius! Thanks to Sherlock Holmes, I then got into reading Agatha Christie books. The first I had was Black Coffee, a play which was only published as a novel after Agatha Christie’s death. It’s a story about the murder of a famous physicist, poisoned by his coffee.

Another mystery set of books I like is the set of Nancy Drew Case Files. I love the Nancy Drew PC games and my mom managed to find me some of the books. Two I know I definitely own are Secrets Can Kill, which one of the games is based off, and Murder On Ice. It’s been a while since I’ve read them, but I’m so determined to read more!

Another of my favourite authors is Cecelia Ahern, author of P.S I Love You, Where Rainbows End and more. The first book I had of Cecelia Ahern’s was P.S I Love You, after my fiancé bought me the DVD of the film. It’s a very emotional book, but I love to read it.

As you can see from the image, we have the Game Of Thrones books and The Lord Of The Rings and Hobbit books. Well… My fiancé has them. They are something I’m hoping to get to read soon.

Ok, yes, when the Fifty Shades books were a big thing when they were released I wanted to know what all the fuss was about so I went ahead and bought them. I was a bit apprehensive knowing what the books were about but I’ll read anything once. I know there wouldn’t be a lot left, but if you minus all the sex, it is actually got a pretty good story behind it and that’s what I like in a book… It has to have a good story.

A List of some of my Favourite Books

Any Sherlock Holmes | Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
P.S I Love You | Cecelia Ahern
Black Coffee | Agatha Christie
Billy and Me | Giovanna Fletcher
The One You Love | Paul Pilkington
Fifty Shades Trilogy | E.L James
Crossfire Series | Sylvia Day

There are a lot of books I’d love to read. I’m open to suggestions. If you have any suggestions, please leave them in a comment.

The Differences Between Books and Their Film Adaptations

I’m not going to write about all books with a film or TV adaptation… For one it would take too long and secondly, seeing how much I love reading Sherlock Holmes I am still yet to watch the films or TV series based on the books.

My first pick to talk about in this section is The Princess Bride. I love this film… In fact, it should be included in my list of top favourite films. When I spotted the book for sale on Amazon, I couldn’t resist buying it. However, when it arrived I was quite disappointed. Not by the book I purchased, but by the actual book itself. I found myself very confused and lost, and I couldn’t work out where I was. It seemed all over the place. I hadn’t even gotten to any part of the actual Princess Bride story that I know so well from the film. Safe to say, I read a few pages and left it there. It’s been gathering dust in our little cabinet since that day.

My fiancé is a huge fan of the Lord Of The Rings. He’s got the films, the games and the books… Actually, he has 2 different sets of the books, one set I bought for a couple of pounds from a charity shop after I spotted it from the window. This set has 6 books, which includes books similar to encyclopaedias about the world of Middle Earth. I know I haven’t read them yet, but I want to write about them from my fiancé’s experience.

There so much more content in the books than is shown in even the extended editions of the films! There are characters that don’t appear, extra pieces of the story which have been cut…its roughly 2 or 3 chapters worth of content that’s been cut from at least the first hour of The Fellowship Of The Ring. However, other than a lot of story being cut for the film, the content that’s been used to create the films is very accurate to the books. Peter Jackson has done an amazing job on these famous works by J.R.R. Tolkien.

Off topic a little… Did you know that J.R.R. Tolkien grew up pretty close to where I live and that he based Middle Earth around the area and on the people he knew?

What are your favourite books?

Thanks for reading. I’d encourage anyone to take part in The Blog Tag. It’s fun and I am building connections with fellow bloggers! If you have any suggestions of books or comments, I’d love to hear them.

Best Wishes
Nikki

Visit Nikkipedia Facebook page Visit Nikkipedia Twitter page Visit Nikkipedia Instagram page Email Nikkipedia Visit Nikkipedia Pinterest page Visit Nikkipedia Google+ page Visit Nikkipedia Bloglovin page Visit Nikkipedia Tumblr page

This post has been written in collaboration with The Blog Tag.
If you wish to join, head over to the Facebook group.
You can also find The Blog Tag on their website.
See you there!

9 thoughts on “Books

  1. Great read, Nikki 😀 I absolutely loved PS I love you, and that can also be brought up on the book to movie adaptation theme as well – the book and the film are so different from each other (following the same story) but each are fantastic in their own ways. It's probably my favourite book and movie combo. You do have to give movie makers some slack though to be fair, they can't include EVERYTHING in a book, it would either make it way too long (as if the LOTR trilogy wasn't long enough, ha) or they would have trouble putting in every element especially if a character has a lot of inner monologue.

    My all time favourite book at the moment has got to be Ready Player One by Ernest Cline, it's a kind of dystopian novel based on a virtual reality world. It's amazing!

    Katie
    http://www.katiehodgkinson.com

    Like

  2. Thanks for your comment Katie. It definitely could, they are so different but both great in their own right. I watched the film before I read the book and I was so emotional watching it. I totally agree with you, I can understand them cutting smaller parts out of books for films….like you say, as if LoTRs wasn't long enough already!

    I've never read that book, I'll have to log on to Goodreads to look it up 🙂

    Nikki

    Like

Leave a Reply

