Business · interview · Sunday showcase

May Business Showcase | Alyssa Pledger ACP Charms

acp charms

I’m really happy to be here for a third month with Sunday Showcase, the monthly small business feature. I’m really excited for the future of this series, as it has already proved pretty popular.

The first of May’s showcases is with Alyssa Pledger, aged 18 from Washington State USA, owner of Alyssa Pledger ACP Charms

Alyssa makes anything from charms, bows, jewelry and pendants and soon to be a lot more.

Here is my interview with Alyssa…


When did you start your business?
I started my business officially on March 13th 2016

What made you decide to setup your business?
Since I was young I always wanted to own my own store, whether storefront or online. I loved the idea of making jewelry and making people happy! I was slowly working towards my goals but with being a single mother it can get pretty hard. I took the leap the second I got the chance. It was time where there were no more excuses for being nervous of giving it a try! I’m keeping a positive outlook.

What do you do and what products do you sell?
So far on my Etsy shop there are necklaces, rings, vial pendants and charms. Vial pendants and charms can be made into keychains, necklaces, phone charms, bracelets and more! Soon there will be wire wrapped jewelry (this one is a work in progress), bows/bowties, furry friend bows, more colors for the wing chokers, bracelets, resin pieces, phone cases and more!!

What products seem to be your best sellers?
As I’m a new business, none so far but I’m hoping for the best!

Who are your biggest competitors?
I don’t see it as a competition, honestly. I do it because I love it and I love to make others happy. If everyone’s happy with their items, then I’m happy!

How do you advertise your business?
Mostly through social media and word of mouth.

How would you recommend your business to potential customers?
I would recommend my business to future customers that I try to make every package seem like a gift! I handcraft every item carefully and slowly with love to make sure every piece is unique. I try to make a little something for everyone.

Did you have any problems when starting your business? If so, how did you overcome them?
Mostly the only problem I had was getting the hang of the Etsy website. It was the very first time I’ve ever opened a store on Etsy or any sites alike, so at times it could be very confusing. Learning how to work polymer clay was a pain as well, but eventually it started coming naturally. I’m still learning different techniques. Just pushing through it, not giving up and keeping a positive attitude has been a life saver!

Do you recruit? If so, what are the benefits?
No currently I do not. It’s just me, a single mom with a crafters hand!

How do you decide on your designs?
Usually they just come to me. I just sit down and let my hands do the”talking”. I let creativity take over and I see where it goes.

What has been your favourite piece to work on?
Most definitely the winged chokers! They’re absolutely adorable! !

Are there any offers on your products running at the moment?
With every purchase you get a 15% off coupon on the next order (no minimum spend required)

What has the experience of owning a business been like for you?
Oh gosh… It’s been amazing and fun! It’s never been boring so far that’s for sure. Promoting can be a little hard, but in the end it’s totally worth it!


Here are the store and social media links to Alyssa Pledger ACP Charms

Instagram: vkeidollx and acpcharms
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/acpcharms
Tumblr: http://acpcharms.tumblr.com/
Etsy: https://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/acpcharms
Twitter: www.twitter.com/vkeidollx

Alyssa has made this little statement – Thank you for reading this! I hope you have a day as beautiful as all of you and thank you for checking out my Etsy store!

Thank you for answering my questions, Alyssa. It has been a pleasure interviewing and getting to know you. I wish you well in your business venture.

Best Wishes
Nikki

 

Visit Nikkipedia Facebook page Visit Nikkipedia Twitter page Visit Nikkipedia Instagram page Email Nikkipedia Visit Nikkipedia Pinterest page Visit Nikkipedia Google+ page Visit Nikkipedia Bloglovin page Visit Nikkipedia Tumblr page

Leave a Reply

