Business · interview · Sunday showcase

May Business Showcase | Fun Custom Creations

funcustomcreations

Continuing on with May’s Sunday Showcase, I interviewed Hannah Huff. Hannah, aged 29 from New Johnsonville, TN USA, is the owner Fun Custom Creations.

Fun Custom Creations make custom shirts, stuffed animals and keychains.

Here is my interview with Hannah…


https://www.etsy.com/listing/269497533/my-favorite-disney-princess-is-my-wife
My Favorite Disney Princess is my Wife T-Shirt

When did you start your business?
September 2014. I started making bowties and suspenders for my little guy. Then I decided that I could probably sell my bowtie shirts. I now have four different machines that allow me to embroider, applique, and use vinyl.

What made you decide to setup your business?
I started making bowties and suspenders for my little guy. I had originally looked at them on Etsy and decided that I could make them exactly like I wanted them myself! After I made a few that were super adorable, I decided that I could probably sell them. I started a shop. My shop has highly evolved over the last year and a half. I am constantly changing and making my shop better as well as adding new designs. Now I have four machines that allow me to embroider, applique, and use vinyl.

https://www.etsy.com/uk/listing/288641575/dog-stuffed-animal-dog-cubbie-birth?ref=shop_home_listings
Dog Stuffed Animal

What do you do and what products do you sell?
I make custom shirts, stuffed animals, and keychains. I embroider a lot of stuffed animals. My favorite kind of shirt to make is a bowtie and suspender shirt with embroidery under the bowtie. I also do applique. My latest and greatest creations are my vinyl shirts. I absolutely adore the sparkly, glitter vinyl on shirts.

What products seem to be your best sellers?
I think my birthday shirts and my customized stuffed animals sell the best.

Who are your biggest competitors?
I think the big box stores. Not that I actually compete with them, but I have to make my designs cuter than theirs in order for people to want to buy mine over theirs which are cheaper.

How do you advertise your business?
I advertise in Facebook groups.

https://www.etsy.com/uk/listing/223705873/first-birthday-shirt-bowtie-birthday?ref=shop_home_listings
1st Birthday Bowtie Shirt

How would you recommend your business to potential customers?
I would say that I can make any design that someone brings to me. I love to make custom designs, and that I make some of the cutest shirts out there. Also, my prices are very fair. I give discounts when possible.

Did you have any problems when starting your business? If so, how did you overcome them?
I was very nervous about each item that I sold. As I have sold more and more, people just love my products and come back to me for more. That shows me that I have no need to be nervous.

Do you recruit? If so, what are the benefits?
I do not recruit.

https://www.etsy.com/uk/listing/267082845/aunt-shirt-not-just-an-aunt-big-cup-of?ref=shop_home_listings
Aunt Shirt

How do you decide on your designs?
I have a lot of customers request custom designs. I love to create custom designs! Also, I make designs when needed for my son, nephews, and nieces. Sometimes, I find a design that I just love.  I always put my own spin on any ideas that I find.

What has been your favourite piece to work on?
I love making the bowtie shirts that have embroidery on them. Those creations are really special and very boutique. Also, I am really enjoying making vinyl shirts as well.

https://www.etsy.com/uk/listing/275258752/american-girl-shirt-matching-dolly-and?ref=shop_home_listings
Disney Princess Shirt

Are there any offers on your products running at the moment?
I would do a 10% discount for anyone that purchases from this blog. They can use the code blog10.

What has the experience of owning a business been like for you?
I have absolutely loved owning my own business. I love working for myself! Sometimes, it can be stressful when you have lots of orders and only a little time to work. My favorite part is creating a design on my computer and watching how adorable it turns out on a shirt. I love seeing my shirts on customers, family members, and even myself.

 

https://www.etsy.com/uk/listing/286897747/workout-tank-top-though-she-be-little?ref=shop_home_listings
She’s Fierce Tank Top

Listed below you can find the links to Fun Custom Creations Etsy store and social media accounts:
Etsy shop: https://www.etsy.com/shop/FunCustomCreations?ref=hdr_shop_menu
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/funcustomcreations/
Twitter: Hannah Huff (@funcustomshirts) | Twitter
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Funcustomcreations

Thank you for answering my questions Hannah. It has been a pleasure interviewing you and getting to know you. I wish you the best of luck in your business venture.

Best Wishes
Nikki

Visit Nikkipedia Facebook page Visit Nikkipedia Twitter page Visit Nikkipedia Instagram page Email Nikkipedia Visit Nikkipedia Pinterest page Visit Nikkipedia Google+ page Visit Nikkipedia Bloglovin page Visit Nikkipedia Tumblr page

Leave a Reply

