inspire · Recipe · The Blog Tag

My Baking Success Story

baking success(1)

I spoke about it a few times before, about how I am a fully trained and qualified chef. That being said, I’ve not really ever done much baking. I’ve baked the odd batch of cupcakes here and there for our nephew’s birthday and a cake for my fiance’s birthday which didn’t really turn our very well I might add. I was more of a savoury chef than baking cakes.

I’ve been planning a lot recently to actually start regular baking. Cakes and cupcakes, bread even…anything I could bake I’ve wanted to do.

I made the leap last week to buy a few new things I new I needed for baking like silicone cake molds, new scales and mixing bowl. I decided to start pretty simple and make a Victoria Sandwich. I visited Tesco and bought the ingredients I needed and was so excited to start baking!

I have to admit, I really enjoyed myself baking and eating this cake. I was pretty impressed with myself on a first attempt.

Heres the recipe I used:


Victoria Sandwich

Ingredients

200g (8oz) butter or margarine  |  I used Stork margarine which is marketed as perfect for cakes
200g (8oz) caster sugar
4 medium eggs
200g self raising flour
10g baking powder
Strawberry jam

For butter cream:
140g (5oz) butter  |  I used Stork margarine which is marketed as perfect for cakes
280g (10oz) icing sugar
1-2 tablespoons milk
few drops of vanilla extract

Split the ingredients for the cake in half. The amounts listed will cover the two separate cakes I made.

  1. Cream the butter and sugar until soft and fluffy.
  2. Gradually add the beaten eggs.
  3. Lightly mix in the sieved flour and baking powder.
  4. Lightly grease a 20cm cake tin or silicone mold
  5. Bake in the oven at 190-200 degrees centigrade (Gas Mark 5-6; 375-400 degrees Fahrenheit) for 12-15 mintues.
  6. Check with a skewer to ensure it is cooked.
  7. Leave to cool for a short while and then turn out the cake onto a wire rack. Leave to cool.
  8. Repeat the process for a second cake.
  9. For the butter cream, beat the butter in a large bowl until soft. Add half of the icing sugar and mix until smooth. Add the remaining icing sugar, a tablespoon of milk and a few drops of vanilla extract and mix until creamy
  10. Once the cakes are cool spread the top of one cake with the butter cream and the bottom of the opposite cake with jam. Place on top of each other, jam and buttercream together.
  11. Dust with icing sugar

Did you make the cake too? I’d love to see how you did. I’m also interested to see any other baking you do.

Best Wishes
Nikki

Visit Nikkipedia Facebook page Visit Nikkipedia Twitter page Visit Nikkipedia Instagram page Email Nikkipedia Visit Nikkipedia Pinterest page Visit Nikkipedia Google+ page Visit Nikkipedia Bloglovin page Visit Nikkipedia Tumblr page

This post has been written in collaboration with The Blog Tag.
If you wish to join, head over to the Facebook group.

You can also find The Blog Tag on their website.
See you there!

One thought on “My Baking Success Story

Leave a Reply

