mental health · The Blog Tag

Habits Within Depression and Anxiety | Are They A Coping Mechanism?

habitswithdepression

Everyone has at least one habit. Like one of my habits is biting my nails, my sister used to have the habit of seeming like she was chewing her drinks. I know I need to stop biting my nails, especially since I am trying to grow them.

Seeing as we are talking about mental health this week I want to write about some habits that my fiance has, that we have only really taken notice of since his diagnosis.

It may seem like an OCD kind of habit but most things he does, he has to do 3 times. When he knocks a door, he has to knock 3 times. Brushing his teeth, he spits out toothpaste 3 times. When he locks our front door, he checks the handle 3 times. This may sound strange, but I enjoy listening out for the 3 taps and watching out for the 3 handle checks.

I suppose that these habits are a coping mechanism. Sort of like giving people something to occupy their minds other than the thoughts and feelings deriving from their depression and anxiety.

What habits do you have? Did you know about your habits before someone told you about them? Are they a coping mechanism for you? I’d love to hear what you think. Feel free to get in touch.

Best Wishes
Nikki

Visit Nikkipedia Facebook page Visit Nikkipedia Twitter page Visit Nikkipedia Instagram page Email Nikkipedia Visit Nikkipedia Pinterest page Visit Nikkipedia Google+ page Visit Nikkipedia Bloglovin page Visit Nikkipedia Tumblr page

This post has been written in collaboration with The Blog Tag.
If you wish to join, head over to the Facebook group.
You can also find The Blog Tag on their website
See you there!

3 thoughts on “Habits Within Depression and Anxiety | Are They A Coping Mechanism?

  1. I used to stutter; I don't think I do it anymore, but when I was in sixth form at school my friends would point it out to me and I genuinely had NO idea that I used to do that. I believe it was because I used to try and talk to fast in order to get my point across. I used to bite my nails, but even now I don't, they still don't grow which sucks – my nails have always looked bad. Good luck with trying to stop πŸ™‚

    Katie
    http://www.katiehodgkinson.com

    Like

  2. I talk to myself…and the computer. I will ask a question and answer it. Bounce ideas off myself. Apparently I'm weird (that's what folks say). I also need things to be in perfect symmetry else I go insane. I don't walk on cracks. No specific reason. It's just one of those things. Perfectly normal.

    Like

Leave a Reply

