Business · interview · Sunday showcase

June Business Showcase | Divyanka Latwal

business

Sunday Showcase is back for its FOURTH month! I’m really excited to be continuing on with this series.

The first of June’s showcase features is with Divyanka Latwal, aged 29 from Toronto, Canada. Her business name is Divyanka Latwal.

Divyanka made a small statement briefly describing her business:
“I make handmade jewelry. My work ranges from boho chic to wedding jewelry. I love experimenting with styles and colours.”

Here is my interview with Divyanka…


When did you start your business?
I started my business in September 2015

What made you decide to setup your business?
I do a bunch of other crafts other than jewellery. I decided to start selling jewellery when I felt that there is a demand for my work. A lot of my friends and family wanted to buy my work and through word of mouth I used to get a lot of orders. That’s when I decided I should start making it available for others as well.

What do you do and what products do you sell?
I walk down the local markets in Toronto to find unique stones and findings. I source my material from the best supplier. I create, design and photograph the jewellery available in the store.

What products seem to be your best sellers?
Earrings seem to be my best sellers.

How do you advertise your business?
I do not do any paid advertising. I sell through word of mouth, Facebook and Etsy.

How would you recommend your business to potential customers?
If you are looking for a piece that is unique and want to cherish all your life then drop by my store.

Did you have any problems when starting your business? If so, how did you overcome them?
Sourcing the material was my biggest challenge. Finding good suppliers was really tough.

Do you recruit? If so, what are the benefits?
Not yet. But as my business grows I would love to recruit.

How do you decide on your designs?
It all starts with a bead or a stone. I like to go with my instincts and create things with the flow. I do not like to decide in advance.

What has been your favourite piece to work on?
A lariat necklace I created with tanzanite and opal stones.

Are there any offers on your products running at the moment?
No, not right now.

What has the experience of owning a business been like for you?
Exhilarating !! I love being in control of my shop and deciding everything. I love the ups and downs of owning the business.

Here are the store and social media links Divyanka Latwal

Etsy: www.divyankalatwal.etsy.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/DivyankaLatwal
Twitter: www.twitter.com/DivyankaLatwal

Thank you for answering my questions Divyanka. It has been a pleasure interviewing and getting to know you. I wish you well in your business venture.

Best Wishes
Nikki

Visit Nikkipedia Facebook page Visit Nikkipedia Twitter page Visit Nikkipedia Instagram page Email Nikkipedia Visit Nikkipedia Pinterest page Visit Nikkipedia Google+ page Visit Nikkipedia Bloglovin page Visit Nikkipedia Tumblr page
Leave a Reply

