Business · interview · Sunday showcase

June Business Showcase | HookedByAngel

business(3)

I also interviewed Angela Doherty. Angela, aged 55 from Grove City, Ohio USA, is the owner, maker and designer of HookedbyAngel.

HookedbyAngel is a handmade crocheting business.

Here is my interview with Angela…


Ellen DeGeneres’ dog, Kid

When did you start your business?
I started my business in November, 2014.

What made you decide to setup your business?
I started my business after creating a silly Christmas gift for my parents. I crocheted a dog cozy which resembled their Maltese, Mickey. Their reaction was so special. My mom even gave it a kiss. I then made cozies for other family members to resemble their dogs. I started sharing pictures of the cozies in different Facebook crochet groups. People just loved th
em and asked me to try different dog breeds and encouraged me to write my patterns because they wanted to make them too.

What do you do and what products do you sell?
I am currently designing a series of cozies which resemble different dog breeds. I look at a photo of the dog and recreate it in yarn. I sell the finished cozies and custom cozies of individual dogs. Once I feel I have mastered the breed I release it as a crochet pattern and DIY crochet kit.

What products seem to be your best sellers?
My patterns sell well year round. My kits sell well during the holidays. My best selling dog cozies are the custom orders, Schnauzers and Dachshunds!

Who are your biggest competitors?
I imagine my biggest competitors will be the individuals who purchase my patterns. I believe there are enough dog lovers in the world to accommodate us all.

How do you advertise your business?
I currently advertise on social media. I have a wonderful fan following on Facebook and I’m working doing the same on Instagram as well. I also pin daily to Pinterest.

How would you recommend your business to potential customers?
I would recommend my business as a unique gift for yourself or the dog lover in you life.

Did you have any problems when starting your business? If so, how did you overcome them?
The biggest problem I had while starting my business was being completely green in all areas of operating an online shop. In order to overcome that, I have listened to hundreds of Podcasts on the subject. I still try to learn new things everyday. There are so many free resources to take advantage of.

How do you decide on your designs?
I make the most requested breeds first, but sometimes I see a really adorable dog that I just can’t help but recreate in yarn!

What has been your favourite piece to work on?
My favorite piece of work was made for a customer who purchased a custom cozy for her sister as Christmas gift. She lost a dog she truly loved. She used to carry it around everywhere she went. My customer contacted me after gifting it to her and told me she cried big, ugly tears after opening it and said now she can carry him around with her again.

Are there any offers on your products running at the moment?
I have the Beagle cozy pattern in my testing pool. It should be ready in about a week. I will be offering a discount on all of my patterns upon its release.

What has the experience of owning a business been like for you?
I never expected it to take off like it did so I am surprised, excited and a little bit exhausted!

Where do you see your business in the future? What dreams do you have for your business?
I would love to have my patterns published in a book.

Listed below are the store and social media links for HookedbyAngel
Etsy: https://www.etsy.com/shop/HookedbyAngel
Ravelry: http://www.ravelry.com/stores/hookedbyangel
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HookedbyAngel
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/hookedbyangel/
Mailing List Singup: http://madmimi.com/signups/200678/join

Angela also made the following statement:
“My advise to others wanting to start a creative business is to find your niche. Once you have
found it, listen to your fans and followers. They will guide you to what they want. I never
initially intended to write my patterns, but I had so many request for them I made it happen. It is
now my favorite part of my business and provides me with a passive income while I’m growing
in other ways.”

Thank you for answering my questions Angela. It has been a pleasure interviewing and getting to know you. I wish you well in your business venture.

Best Wishes
Nikki

Visit Nikkipedia Facebook page Visit Nikkipedia Twitter page Visit Nikkipedia Instagram page Email Nikkipedia Visit Nikkipedia Pinterest page Visit Nikkipedia Google+ page Visit Nikkipedia Bloglovin page Visit Nikkipedia Tumblr page
Leave a Reply

