Business · interview · Sunday showcase

July Business Showcase | Lucky Sea Glass Jewelry

business(5)

I interviewed Jean Forman, aged 65+ from Virginia, USA. Jean owns Lucky Sea Glass Jewelry.

Genuine sea glass and wire crocheted jewelry in artistic, handmade designs. Jean made this small statement:
“I beachcomb for sea glass around the world to use in my one of a kind designs. I enjoy working with customers to create custom pieces with their own sea glass finds or mine”

Here is my interview with Jean…


When did you start your business?
About eight years ago, after many people commented on my jewelry and bought pieces, I decided to sell in some shops and started a website.

What made you decide to setup your business?
I love creating the jewelry with my sea glass finds and seeing others enjoy them!

What do you do and what products do you sell?
I sell many different products in the jewelry line – necklaces, rings, earrings, bracelets brooches. I have created a line of mermaid necklaces and statement necklaces and rings for the bold, fashionable buyer, but also more delicate pieces for a more subtle look.

What products seem to be your best sellers?
Sea glass necklaces are very popular. Also, I have sold a number of my large baroque pearl earrings.

Who are your biggest competitors?
Unfortunately, there are many sellers around who are selling fake or imitation so-called sea glass at very low prices. They don’t always report the sea glass is not genuine. Genuine sea glass is often hard to find and very time consuming. Fake sea glass is often machine tumbled broken glass made to resemble sea glass, but of course it does not have the history or beauty of genuine sea glass and probably was never ever near a sea!

How would you recommend your business to potential customers?
I use only genuine sea glass that I have found myself around the world. I never buy sea glass from others or use fake glass. My designs are all handmade by me in my studio here in Virginia, and are unique.

How do you decide on your designs?
Often, it is an organic process, as I start with a general idea, then experiment, change, see what I like, what works, etc. Sometimes a customer will ask for something specific, as well.

What has been your favourite piece to work on?
I love creating the mermaid necklaces!

What has the experience of owning a business been like for you?
I have learned so much about jewelry making, sea glass, photography, website development and social media since becoming involved with this small business. Also, I have met many helpful people around the world, both customers and fellow artists! Before I began this business, I had been a school psychologist for almost thirty years. Now I have a wonderful new career which enables me to travel, create, and share my passion for sea glass. Last year and this year, I was fortunate to be a guest lecturer about sea glass on three Silversea cruises in Alaska, Russia, and Australia. In 2013, I was named one of the top 23 Sea Glass Jewelry Artists in the world by Eternal Tools, London, England.

Where do you see your business in the future? What dreams do you have for your business? 
I have been expanding my materials to include baroque pearls and opals in addition to the sea glass and wire crocheted designs.

Listed below are the links to Lucky Sea Glass Jewelry store and social media:
Etsy: www.etsy.com/shop/LuckySeaGlassJewelry 
Website: www.luckyseaglass.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/LuckySeaGlass
Blog: www.luckyseaglass.blogspot.com

Thank you for answering my questions Jean. It has been a pleasure interviewing and getting to know you. I wish you well in your business venture.

Best Wishes
Nikki

Visit Nikkipedia Facebook page Visit Nikkipedia Twitter page Visit Nikkipedia Instagram page Email Nikkipedia Visit Nikkipedia Pinterest page Visit Nikkipedia Google+ page Visit Nikkipedia Bloglovin page Visit Nikkipedia Tumblr page
Leave a Reply

