Asthma · health

Asthma and Me | A New, Revolutionary Treatment

asthma and me

As most of you know, I have previously written about how I suffer from asthma. If you would like to read about that, you can read my post “Living With Asthma“. I also wrote a post about how I use adult colouring books and how this hobby helps me control my asthma, which you can read at “Adult Colouring Books | How I Am Using Them To Aid My Health”.

Since I was young, I’ve had different inhalers to combat my asthma symptoms. This included different types of reliever inhalers at different doses and increased to a preventer inhaler two times a day too. Mr J helps me as much as he can by finding small ‘home remedies’ which may help, some of which have worked wonders. He was browsing Facebook yesterday when he came across an article on the Metro news page. This article was titled “New asthma breakthrough could revolutionise treatment“. He wasted no time in reading about it and showing me the article.

This article talks about a new asthma drug can help people who suffer from asthma that has been brought on by exercising. Exercising for me is one of my catalysts, among many other things, so I carried on reading. All I thought about was if there is something out there that will help me, even if it is just the smallest amount more, I would be willing to hear it out. This new, revolutionary drug contains prebiotics which are ingredients found in some foods that help increases the good bacteria in your body. The study showed that the prebiotics reduced the symptoms in asthma sufferers significantly.

My first words to Mr J… “Prebiotics. That’s what the yoghurt drinks contain, isn’t it?” However, what I was thinking of were probiotics.

After I read the article, I did a bit of research on prebiotics and probiotics. I found that while similar in certain ways prebiotics and probiotics are quite different.


Probiotics are found in yoghurt, dairy products and pills. They are delicate; heat and stomach acid can kill them and they introduce good bacteria to the body.

Prebiotics, on the other hand, are special indigestible dietary fibres that nourish the good bacteria already found in your body. They aren’t destroyed by heat or acid and have a wide variety of health benefits to people.


What happens with asthma sufferers is that their airways narrow which leaves it difficult to take in air. This can cause symptoms like coughing, wheezing, chest tightening and shortness of breath. What the study has found is that asthma sufferers who were taking the prebiotic supplement showed a significant reduction in the narrowing of the airways.

I was so intrigued by this article that I decided to find what foods contained prebiotics, just to give it a go.

Foods Containing Prebiotics

  • Raw Chicory Root
  • Raw Jerusalem Artichoke
  • Raw Dandelion Greens
  • Raw Garlic
  • Raw Leek
  • Raw and Cooked Onion
  • Raw Asparagus
  • Raw Wheat Bran
  • Cooked Whole Wheat Flour
  • Raw Banana

13925599_1029200607133579_998792042496463716_oThrough my research, I found that yoghurt, cheese and other dairy products can contain both prebiotics and probiotics.

Sadly for me, I hate bananas and I’m not very keen on onion or yoghurts. Although, after a conversation with Mr J about yoghurt drinks, I have been tempted to buy a pack, just to see if this new research helps me. I have my asthma check with the nurse due in October, so I will be asking for her opinion on prebiotic supplements for asthma sufferers. Keep your eyes peeled for an update.

I have my youghurt drink, ready for the testing. Wish me luck, as I don’t really like yoghurts. The texture and the congealed bits around the edge of the pot and on the lid are the worst for me.

In the meantime, what home remedies work fo your asthma? Have you tried out the prebiotic supplements? I’d love to hear from you. Don’t forget to get in touch!

Best Wishes
Nikki

Visit Nikkipedia Facebook page Visit Nikkipedia Twitter page Visit Nikkipedia Instagram page Email Nikkipedia Visit Nikkipedia Pinterest page Visit Nikkipedia Google+ page Visit Nikkipedia Bloglovin page Visit Nikkipedia Tumblr page
One thought on “Asthma and Me | A New, Revolutionary Treatment

Leave a Reply

