Business · interview · Sunday showcase

August Business Showcase | Wild Salt Spirit

wildsaltspirit

I interviewed Coco Taylor, aged 38, who is the owner of Wild Salt Spirit based in Coffs Harbour, New South Wales, Australia.

Wild Salt Spirit designs and creates crochet clothing and accessories with a coastal/boho/vintage aesthetic.

New Name and Logo

Here is my interview with Coco…


Boho Crop TopWhen did you start your business?
I started Wild Salt Spirit in 2015.

What made you decide to set up your business?
I’m a creative person and have always loved making things for friends and relatives but I ran out of people to keep giving gifts to! So I decided to follow my dream a start my business.

What do you do and what products do you sell?
I crochet and sell Women’s clothing and accessories such as scarves, cardigans, barefoot sandals, bags, etc.

What products seem to be your best sellers?
My barefoot sandals sell well and my shawls seem to be gaining more interest.

Boho Floral BagWho are your biggest competitors?
I haven’t really looked around for competitors. There are literally thousands of shops selling crochet items on Etsy, I try to design unique items or I make simple items but use a unique, quality yarn to set myself apart.

How do you advertise your business?
I advertise a lot on social media and am currently on Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr and Pinterest.

How would you recommend your business to potential customers?
I have a unique vision with my items and love to design and create different items that cross all seasons. I’m also happy to work with someone else’s vision if they would like something particular to them. I also make sure all the yarn I use is soft and feels nice to touch, no scratchy yarns for me or my customers!

IMG_4843Did you have any problems when starting your business? If so, how did you overcome them?
The only problems I had was getting my name out there amongst all the millions of shops on Etsy and the thousands of shops that sell crochet, also finding and posting unique content and learning about running a small business. All things can be overcome with hard work and a LOT of reading and researching.

Do you recruit? If so, what are the benefits?
I don’t recruit.

How do you decide on your designs?
I visualise a design first and then I try to sketch it down, then find yarn that I think will best suit the design. Occasionally I find the yarn first and then I try and come up with a design that will suit the yarn.

Feather SandalsWhat has been your favourite piece to work on?
I love my feather barefoot sandals. Out of all the thousands of barefoot sandals, these are unique to the market, completely my own design and I’m very proud of them!

Are there any offers on your products running at the moment?
No.

What has the experience of owning a business been like for you?
It has been very exciting and a little frustrating at times. Coming up with new designs and finding new yarns to use keeps me very occupied and satisfies my creative side. It’s almost like therapy that I can share with everyone else.

IMG_4569Wild Salt Spirits store and social media links are listed below.
Etsy: www.wildsaltspirit.etsy.com
Instagram: www.instagram.com/wildsaltspirit
Facebook: www.facebook.com/wildsaltspirit
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/wildsaltspirit
Twitter: www.twitter.com/wildsaltspirit
Tumblr: http://wildsaltspirit.tumblr.com/

Thank you for answering my questions Coco. It has been a pleasure interviewing and getting to know you. I wish you well in your business venture.

Best Wishes
Nikki

Visit Nikkipedia Facebook page Visit Nikkipedia Twitter page Visit Nikkipedia Instagram page Email Nikkipedia Visit Nikkipedia Pinterest page Visit Nikkipedia Google+ page Visit Nikkipedia Bloglovin page Visit Nikkipedia Tumblr page
Leave a Reply

