Business · interview · Sunday showcase

November Business Showcase | Arnoldslove

 

I interviewed Jennifer Arnold. Jennifer, aged 24, owns Arnoldslove. Arnoldslove is based in New York City, US.

logo

Based in New Mexico USA, Jennifer makes crochet creations, paintings, wedding dresses and more. What makes Arnoldslove so special is that 50% of the proceeds go towards making and donating hats for pediatric patients, stillbirth/miscarriage ribbon key chains for families whom have lost a baby, and tiny swaddle blankets for NICU babies.

Here is my interview with Jennifer.


14193625_1100121346701850_2136019183_nWhen did you start your business?
I started my business in 2014, a little after my son was born.

What made you decide to set up your business?
When my son was born my husband and I realized that the best thing I could do for everyone was be a stay at home mom and wife. I wanted to help bring some money into the household as well and support my family even a little bit at a time.

What do you do and what products do you sell?
I make crochet creations, paintings, wedding dresses, bath bombs, and more.

What products seem to be your best sellers?
My newborn crochet outfits tend to sell more than my others. They make amazing props for photos.

Who are your biggest competitors?
Honestly I have a lot of competitors. Anyone who makes and sells crochet creations and paintings I see as my competition. This includes individuals as well as big market stores.

14194491_1100121353368516_1137470069_nHow do you advertise your business?
I advertise through Etsy and Facebook. I hope to soon branch out to fairs and flea markets.

How would you recommend your business to potential customers?
I rely on my good customer service and always look forward to working on custom orders. I work with my customers one on one to make sure they get what they ordered. If there is ever a mix up or problem with the product I exchange and replace it free of charge.

Did you have any problems when starting your business? If so, how did you overcome them?
Getting my online shop up and running took some time. Being a new mom at the time and being low on money to buy the materials I needed was nerve-racking. I just started little by little. A skein of yard here and there until I built up a stock.

14256362_1100121510035167_495907195_nHow do you decide on your designs?
I have friends who send me some ideas they would like to see me make. In my free time I also like to browse Google and see what others have made. I don’t use any patterns I just pick up my yarn or paintbrush and get to work.

What has been your favourite piece to work on?
My favorite piece to work on so far would have to be the stillbirth miscarriage ribbon key chains. After losing my daughter November 2015 I started making them and donating them to my local hospitals. I want to help other grieving parents who are in the same stage of life we had found ourselves in.

14269621_1100121363368515_1212510370_nAre there any offers on your products running at the moment?
I don’t have any specials at the moment.

What has the experience of owning a business been like for you?
Rewarding and stressful at the same time. I wouldn’t change my experience for anything!

Where do you see your business in the future? What dreams do you have for your business?
My goal is to keep growing my business and the items I sell in it. I want to be able to put my son in the activities he enjoys and help supplement the income my husband brings home.


Below you can find Arnoldslove’s store and social media links:
Facebook: www.facebook.com/ArnoldsLove-1549092842016175
Etsy: https://www.etsy.com/shop/ArnoldsLove
Email: arnoldslovecrochet@yahoo.com


Thank you for answering my questions, Jennifer. It has been a pleasure interviewing and getting to know you. I wish you well in your business venture.

Best Wishes
Nikki

Leave a Reply

