blogmas · christmas

Blogmas Day 1 | Q&A With Me & Mr J

qa

I mentioned yesterday in my Blogmas introductory post that I had prepared a Christmas themed Q&A with me and Mr J.

I thought that this Q&A might be a great start to Blogmas, Nikkipedia Style.


What is your favourite Christmas Movie?

Mr J: Nightmare Before Christmas. When I was younger, if I couldn’t sleep I would watch Nightmare Before Christmas. When it was finished and I settled down again, I could always sleep.

Me: I always loved films like Jingle All The Way and Home Alone, but now my favourite has to be Nightmare Before Christmas too. It makes our Christmas Eve.

Do you open your presents on Christmas Eve or Christmas morning?

Mr J: Christmas morning. That’s the whole point. I know people who open presents on Christmas Eve but to me opening on Christmas Day is what the presents are about. It’s symbolic.

Me: Always Christmas morning. When we were young, my younger brother and sister and myself always used to sneak downstairs early to have a sneak peek at our gifts. We went down in age order and then we would run upstairs and wake our parents up.

Do you have a favourite Christmas memory?

Mr J: About 6/7. I really wanted the White Tiger Zord from the Power Rangers. I was so happy when I got it. I remember taking it to my grandparents on Christmas morning and showing it off. It reminds me of a time when there was our family together at Christmas.

Me: I have a lot of Christmas memories like the sneak peek at the gifts, having Christmas dinner at my grandparents, making our little name cards and the Christmases that Mr J and I have shared in our own home. One thing that I always remember though is eating a whole box of Ferrero Rocher’s by 8am. When I spoke with Mr J on the phone by half past the hour, he wasn’t surprised I felt sick at all.

What’s your favourite festive food?

Mr J: You know what, I think I’d have to say mince pies, especially my uncles homemade mince pies. He made traditional mince pies and cranberry and port ones too. He made me a special mince pie a few years ago. It was an 8-inch mince pie and it was so tasty.

Me: Me and food is a good combination. I’d have to agree with Mr J that you can’t have Christmas without mince pies but I also love pigs in blankets and turkey and stuffing sarnies until the leftover turkey ran out.

What has been your favourite Christmas gift?

Mr J: My favourite gift is always the gifts that I can give other people. As far as gifts that I have been given, I can’t pick a favourite. I really appreciate all that I receive, no matter how big or small. It shows me people have thought about me enough to buy me something.

Me: It was about a week early for Christmas but in 2006, Mr J proposed to me. It almost coincided with our 1 year anniversary and it made the whole festive season even more happy.

Favourite Christmas scent?

Mr J: Definitely the turkey cooking ready for Christmas dinner. You can’t beat it.

Me: I can’t say anything different from the answer that Mr J just gave.

Do you have any Christmas Eve traditions?

Mr J: Nikki and I watch Nightmare Before Christmas every Christmas Eve.

Me: As well as watching Nightmare Before Christmas, we always have a Christmas Eve mince pie too.

What tops your tree?

Mr J: It’s always been an angel.

Me: I had stars on the tree when I was young. Mr J and I currently have an angel wearing a red and gold dress.

As a kid what was the one gift you always asked for but never received?

Mr J: An electric guitar. Its something I always wanted to learn.

Me: A drum kit. I always wanted to learn the drums. I thought I stood more of a chance of getting one, seeing as my dad was a drummer, but it never came.

What’s the best part about Christmas for you?

Mr J: In all honesty, my favourite part about Christmas is spending it with my loved ones, especially my parents. It reminds me of how lucky I am to still have my parents considering that my dad was a lot younger than I am now when he hadn’t got his parents there anymore.

Me: Spending it with Mr J, the Christmas dinner and seeing the look on people’s faces when they open their gifts.

Do you prefer a real Christmas tree or synthetic?

Mr J: I think real trees have a beautiful smell. They are natural and I love everything about nature. However, for me, artificial is better as you won’t have the spines falling everywhere.

Me: I’ve never had a real tree before. I think I’d still pick artificial though as they can be cleaner and can be kept for further years.

Last years Christmas Tree

Whats your favourite colour scheme for decorating the tree?

Mr J: I’d have to pick black and red because they are my favourite colours. Although, how Nikki decorated our tree last year was lovely. She did red and gold.

Me: I love our red and gold theme but if I had to pick a different one, I’d go for purple and silver. When I was young, we always had a mishmash of decorations and colours.

Do you prefer giving or receiving gifts?

Mr J: Giving, every time. I feel awful when people buy me things. I do appreciate them but I feel selfish for having those things. I’m one of these people who genuinely gets 100 times more pleasure from making people happy by giving them things than taking from them. I spent my Christmas money a couple of years ago on something I saw that my dad really wanted.

Me: Don’t get me wrong, receiving gifts is good but I always prefer to buy for people than myself.

Do you have mince pies or not?

Mr J: You have to have mince pies! They are my favourite festive food.

Me: Definitely have mince pies! They’re tradition. I love them warmed up slightly with ice cream.

What’s your traditional Christmas lunch?

Mr J: Turkey dinner with the trimmings. Sprouts, mash, vegetables, parsnips, gravy. Same as most people at Christmas.

Me: Ditto… Minus the sprouts though, thank you. Lashings of gravy too; I’m a massive gravy fan. Give me the saucepan of gravy and I’m happy.

What’s your favourite Christmas song?

Mr J: When A Child Is Born by Johnny Mathis. Its synonymous with Christmas, even though its technically not a Christmas song. It does kind of sum up everything Christmas is actually about.

Me: I can’t pick between Slade or Wizzard.

Worst thing about Christmas?

Mr J: The falseness that some people seem to get around Christmas time. They don’t like you one minute but as soon as December hits, they can’t be nicer. I think a lot of people these days don’t really know what it’s all about.

Me: The sprouts. My parents always tried to get me to eat sprouts because “you have to have them at Christmas” but I absolutely hate the things.

Can you name all of Santa’s reindeer?

Mr J: Rudolph…ermm, Sleepy? Horny? Boozy? Boozy’s brother? Seashell? Bob? Frank? Cappuccino the ninth? Safe to say that that’s a no.

Me: Dasher, Dancer, Prancer, Vixen, Comet, Cupid, Donner and Blitzen. Not forgetting Rudolph of course.

Are you a pro-present wrapper or do you fail miserably?

Mr J: I’m pro. Well, I think so anyway…. Maybe not so much.

Me: I can’t say that I am a pro gift wrapper but I am definitely the most competent between Mr J and I. You’ll find out why a little later through Blogmas.

What made you realize the truth about Santa?

Mr J: I was always brought up to know that Santa wasn’t real. Although, what cemented that in for me was one Christmas Eve when my bedroom door opened and spoke to my dad. I said “Whats up?” My dad’s response was “Shut up and go to sleep, you pillock” and then a present from “Santa” was threw on the floor by my bed for the morning.

Me: I think I always knew. It was strange how Santa always had my moms handwriting.

Do you like to stay in your PJs or dress up for Christmas?

Mr J: Pyjamas when opening presents and then I try to dress in something stupid to make people laugh. Any suggestions on a reindeer outfit for someone who is 6 foot 4 inches tall?

Me: I love being settled in on Christmas with my PJs on but I’d love to get dressed up for the occassion.

Have you ever built a gingerbread house?

Mr J: No. I’ve never been a fan of gingerbread.

Me: I like gingerbread but have never made a gingerbread house.

What are your favourite Christmas colours?

Mr J: I think maybe white and red.

Me: Red, gold, green and white.

If you could only buy one person a present this year, who would it be?

Mr J: Even though he isn’t a person, I’d say Fudge. I like to make Nikki and my family happy but Fudge is more dependant on me. I spoilt him with treats from holiday, can you imagine me not buying him a Christmas gift or two…or ten.

Me: As much as I love buying everyone and Mr J gifts, I’d say my nephew. He is 3 years old and Christmas these days is for kids.

Have you ever made a snowman?

Mr J: Loads! I loved making snowmen when I was younger. Well…they started as snowmen and then end up being weird, mutant space creatures from Jupiter. So instead, a snowball fight followed.

Me: I made snowmen every year if there was good snow.


Christmas This or That?

Candy Canes or Gingerbread Men?

Mr J: Candy canes
Me: Candy canes

White lights, or coloured lights?

Mr J: Coloured lights (Only because they are a bit dimmer and my eyes can be quite sensitive)
Me: Coloured lights (I love the look of them on our tree but I do love white lights too)

Build a snowman or a snow angel?

Mr J: Snow angels (Face down snow angels to be precise. My friends and I did these some years ago. I ended up with ice hanging from my goatee.)
Me: Build a snowman

Have a Snowball fight or build an Igloo?

Mr J: Neither…How about building an ice fort and having a proper snow battle.
Me: Snowball fight

Kiss under the mistletoe or in the snow?

Mr J: Either because every kiss from Nikki is special
Me: Ain’t Mr J sweet? I’ve kissed Mr J under the mistletoe before so I’ll say in the snow

Stocking or presents?

Mr J: Depends on who is in the stockings *wink wink*
Me: Presents. I love unwrapping presents.

Egg nog or hot chocolate?

Mr J: Hot chocolate
Me: Ditto!

Angel or star?

Mr J: Star
Me: I’m happy either way but I’ve always liked the stars

Decorating the tree or putting lights on the outside?

Mr J: Decorating the tree
Me: Definitely decorating the tree

Warm cozy fires or sleigh rides?

Mr J: Warm cozy fires
Me: You definitely can’t beat the warm cozy fire

Family time or friend time?

Mr J: Family time
Me: I agree, family time

Expensive presents or presents that come from the heart?

Mr J: Presents that come from the heart
Me: Presents from the heart are always the more meaningful, no matter what it is

Snow ball fight or snowman?

Mr J: Snowball fight
Me: Snowman

Open presents quick or slow?

Mr J: Quick
Me: I’ve always opened my gifts quick too

Caroling or christmas stories?

Mr J: Christmas stories
Me: Christmas stories

Snowy days or ice days?

Mr J: Snowy days (I hate ice, I end up light Bambi)
Me: Snowy days! You always want it to be a white Christmas

Red or Green?

Mr J: Red
Me: Red

Gifts under tree early or night before?

Under the tree early
Me: When I was  young, they were always brought down the night before but I love putting them under early


And that’s the Christmas themed Q&A with me and Mr J! I hope that you enjoyed it. Have any opinions or want to answer the questions yourself? Please leave them in the comments section.

Are you taking part in Blogmas? I’d love to read your posts and hear your opinions on Nikkipedia’s Blogmas contribution.

Feel free to get in touch.

Best Wishes
Nikki

Visit Nikkipedia Facebook page Visit Nikkipedia Twitter page Visit Nikkipedia Instagram page Email Nikkipedia Visit Nikkipedia Pinterest page Visit Nikkipedia Google+ page Visit Nikkipedia Bloglovin page Visit Nikkipedia Tumblr page

* Please note: The questions used in this Q&A were acquired from a variety of sources, online. *

3 thoughts on “Blogmas Day 1 | Q&A With Me & Mr J

Leave a Reply

