beauty · hair · life

My DIY Haircut

I have to tell you that my motivation to make an appointment at the hairdressers has been quite none existent of late.

I’ve been growing my hair out for just over a year now and have been saying about how I’d have to go and get a haircut. Don’t get me wrong, I love my long hair, but I find that a shorter style is a lot more…me. I’d planned on having my hair a little longer for when Mr J and I get married but it’s just getting too long to handle now. In fact, it’s roughly an inch away from me sitting on it when I wear it loose!

I’d tried a few local hairdressers for appointments in September for a trim before I went away to Newquay, Cornwall on holiday but all my attempts failed. My usual hairdressers was closed for that week and for the other 4 or 5 places I tried, I could not get an appointment. So I ended up going on holiday a little disappointed that hadn’t had my trim.

I’d planned on booking an appointment at one of the salons on holiday, but I just spent my time and money enjoying myself instead of getting my haircut. So, we’re now in December. A whole 3 months since my holiday still with no haircut. With it being so close to Christmas at the time, I didn’t expect there to be many appointments available so I decided to watch some tutorials on YouTube on how to cut my hair myself. I’ve never cut my own hair before so I thought that if I could just give it a trim, at least it will last until I could get an appointment. If it didn’t work out, I hadn’t butchered my hair and made it unsalvageable so I could have it fixed.

dsc_0111
What I cut off my hair

Watching a number of videos on YouTube, I found that a lot of YouTubers were showing the same tutorial. I settled on using the tutorial by YouTuber Bebexo. In her tutorial, entitled The Best Hair Hack ♥ How to Cut & Layer Your Hair at Home, she shows you the way in which she cuts her own hair to achieve a nice cut and layered look.

On December 21st, freshly showered, hair blow dried and straightened, I took the plunge in cutting my own hair.

I prepared my hair, got the scissors ready and I started to panic. What if I did it wrong? I couldn’t wait any longer. I made the first cut… No going back now!

Here’s my before and after shots.

haircut

Not too much of a difference. I cut around 5 or 6 inches off my hair. It’s a bit more manageable now and I am quite pleased with how it had turned out. It may not have been the best, but I think I did a good job.

What do you think? Have you ever cut your own hair? WOULD you do it for that matter? I’d love to hear your opinions. Feel free to get in touch.

Best Wishes
Nikki

Visit Nikkipedia Facebook page Visit Nikkipedia Twitter page Visit Nikkipedia Instagram page Email Nikkipedia Visit Nikkipedia Pinterest page Visit Nikkipedia Google+ page Visit Nikkipedia Bloglovin page Visit Nikkipedia Tumblr page

One thought on “My DIY Haircut

Leave a Reply

