beauty · hair

Colouring Your Hair With Coffee. Does It Work?

Not too long ago, December 2016 to be exact, there was a video circulating the web from Beirut based beauty salon, Abed & Samer, where the stylist ‘dyed‘ a lady’s hair using Nutella and condensed milk. I love a bit of Nutella. I remember searching YouTube and numerous websites to find out if this actually worked. My research ultimately showed that it didn’t, unfortunately.

Yesterday, on my YouTube, a suggested video popped up from superholly. The video, posted in January, showed her app!ying Nutella to her hair to test the theory that you could dye your hair with Nutella. I decided to look down some of the other recommended videos and came to the conclusion that I wanted to give something like this a go. If it worked, AWESOME. If not, my hair would get some natural nourishing.

I couldn’t justify using a whole load of Nutella on my hair. I’m sure most of us would agree but I’d rather eat it; it’s too delicious to waste. However, I had plenty of filter coffee in my cupboard. More than I needed in fact. I know coffee can stain so I thought “Hey. Why not?

My hair colour

I brewed a couple of cups of coffee with double the amount of coffee in it. If it worked, I wanted to notice it worked. Once the coffee was cooled, I mixed it with hair conditioner. I picked up a bottle of VO5 Give Me Moisture conditioner for £1 at my local shop; only because I wanted to use a white conditioner and not my range of multicolour ones lined up in the bathroom. I picked this bottle because I thought it would give extra nourishing as it includes 5 vital oils; Argan oil, jojoba oil, apricot oil, avocado oil and grapeseed oil.

I applied the coffee/conditioner mixture to my hair, covered my head in a couple of plastic bags and left it in for an hour. After an hour had passed, I washed the mixture out of my hair with ONLY water. I then blow dried my hair to see the result.

So, did it work?

For the colour, not in the slightest! The only thing I accomplished from this was my hair feels super soft and smells somewhat like Italian gourmet coffee. Maybe it will stain lighter hair than mine but I really don’t know.

If you want to give it a go, don’t get your hopes up for colour. For me, I was doing this as an experiment. Whether the colour worked was just a bonus. I’d love to hear if you tried it. Let me know if it worked for you or any other ways you have attempted to colour your hair with more natural ingredients.

Feel free to get in touch.

Best Wishes
Nikki

Visit Nikkipedia Facebook page Visit Nikkipedia Twitter page Visit Nikkipedia Instagram page Email Nikkipedia Visit Nikkipedia Pinterest page Visit Nikkipedia Google+ page Visit Nikkipedia Bloglovin page Visit Nikkipedia Tumblr page

3 thoughts on “Colouring Your Hair With Coffee. Does It Work?

Leave a Reply

